LILA 2024 — Call for entries now open!

Call for Entries: The European Award for Architectural Heritage Intervention

The European Award for Architectural Heritage Intervention is a biennial contest organized with the support of COAC (Association of Architects of Catalonia) and AADIPA (Association of Architects for the Defence and Intervention in Architectural Heritage), the purpose of which is to distinguish quality heritage interventions and contribute to their disclosure.
The contest that, with ten years of existence, is aimed at consolidating itself as a catalyst and observatory of new challenges, as well as conserving and intervening in built heritage through the globalization of contemporary architecture.

Previous Winners



The call is divided into four categories: 

Category A: Intervention in built heritage
All architectural, permanent or ephemeral interventions in architectural properties of heritage interest.

Category B: Exterior spaces
All interventions in the historic public space, in monumental and cultural landscape environments.

Category C: Urban planning
All planning work aimed at the protection, conservation and enhancement of architectural heritage.

Category D: Disclosure
Those initiatives, activities and actions that are aimed at disseminating the values of architectural heritage.

Who can participate?

Any professionals and associations linked to architectural heritage, such us: Architects and architectural firms, town planners, historians, archaeologists or AADIPA members, are eligible for entry.


All submissions must be entered into one of the above categories and they must have been conducted or published in the period between January 1st, 2014 and December 31st, 2020, in the European geographical area. The only exception is category D, where works by European authors in other geographical areas will be accepted.
The same author may present more than one work, piece or publication. A single intervention can apply for the award in different categories; however, specific documentation required for each of the categories must be presented.

Registration and delivery of documentation

The deadline for submission of documentation will be on March 12th, 2021 at 24.00. The registration fee is 70 Euros (VAT included) for general entries and 60 Euro (VAT included) for AADIPA members. Prices are for each piece of work submitted to the Award. Proof of payment and all requested documentation as detailed in the complete rules of the call will be sent electronically via the website.


The awards for each category will be as follows:
Category A: from of a maximum selection of 15,
1 award and 3 finalists will be established.
Category B: from of a maximum selection of 10,
1 award and 3 finalists will be established.
Category C: 1 award and 3 finalists.
Category D: 1 award and 3 finalists. 

From all the work presented, the award organization, will concede a Special Restoration Mention to the intervention which from a technical and methodological point of view stands out for its quality, precision and respect.

The winners will be awarded a framed reproduction of an original photograph by Francesc Català Roca and the he finalists and those selected will receive a diploma. The winning entries, finalists, those selected and submitted works will be part of Award Archive and the catalogue published for each issue to document the event. 
The awards ceremony will take place in May 2021 in the city of Barcelona within the framework of the International Biennial of Architectural Heritage, organized with the support of COAC, AADIPA and the Government of Catalonia.


December 21st, 2020
Publication of the contest rules and opening of the call

December 21st, 2020 – March 12th, 2021
Registration period and presentation of projects

March – April 2021
Evaluation period of the projects by the jury

Beginning of May 2021
Publication of selected projects

End of May of 2021
Jury decision and Award ceremony

Published on January 25, 2021

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Products by Maglin