Call for Entries for the Tenth European Prize for Urban Public Space

The architect Olga Tarrasó, also holder of a master’s degree in Landscape Architecture, will be President of the International Jury. Inaugurated in 2000, this biennial award is the only Europe-wide prize for public space. It is offered by seven European institutions with the aim of recognising and publicising newly created, recovered or improved public spaces in European cities.


The Centre of Contemporary Culture of Barcelona (CCCB) announces that it is now making a call for entries for the Tenth European Prize for Urban Public Space, an honorific biennial competition which, since 2000, has recognised the creation and recovery of public spaces, and presented awards for the best public space interventions carried out in European cities. Representing the CCCB on this tenth award of the Prize, the president of the International Jury deciding the prize-winning projects carried out in 2016 and 2017 will be Olga Tarrasó, architect and holder of a master’s degree in Landscape Architecture, with long experience working with public space projects in several European cities. The other members of the Jury are Peter Chacola Schmal, director of the Deutsches Architekturmuseum (Frankfurt); Matevž Čelik, director of the Museum of Architecture and Design (Ljubljana); Angelika Fitz, director of the Architekturzentrum Wien (Vienna); Hans Ibelings, a Dutch historian and architecture critic; Juulia Kauste, director of the Museum of Finnish Architecture (Helsinki); Ewa P. Porebska, architect and editor-inchief of the review Architektura-murator (Warsaw); Francis Rambert, director of the Institut français d’architecture (Paris); and Ellis Woodman, director of The Architecture Foundation (London).

The registration period is from 15 January to 21 February, 2018. The rules of the Prize and all the information about presenting for it may be found at the website

What is the European Prize for urban Public Space?

The European Prize for Urban Public Space is an initiative of the Centre of Contemporary Culture of Barcelona (CCCB), which organises it jointly with The Architecture Foundation (London), the Architekturzentrum Wien (Vienna), the Institut Français d’Architecture / la Cité de l’Architecture et du Patrimoine (Paris), the Museum of Finnish Architecture (Helsinki), the Deutsches Architekturmuseum (Frankfurt), and Museum of Architecture and Design (Ljubljana).

The Prize highlights the relational and civic nature of European urban public space. It is the only public space award of continental scope, and is conceded to both the author of the project and to the municipalities or other promoters of interventions aiming to improve the lives of citizens. The Prize aims to promote an open, compact model of the city offering universal access and ensuring harmonious coexistence of citizens, mixed uses, sustainable mobility for inhabitants, and also citizen participation in the design of shared spaces.

Ten awards of a prize of European and social vocation

One of Europe’s great contributions to the world is its particular way of understanding and living in the city. Public space is a physical form imbued with political and immaterial values. Over its ten awards, the Prize has remained true to the goal of promoting this identity which is based precisely on the social, cultural, economic, and historical significance of public space. The European Archive of Urban Public Space brings together the best works presented for the Prize since its inception. With more than three hundred examples representing almost two hundred cities, it constitutes a wide-ranging collection of examples of good practice which testify to the prolific construction of public spaces all around Europe.

Information concerning Prize may be found at:
Twitter: @publicspaceCCCB #PublicSpace18

Published on December 20, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Products by Streetlife