LILA 2024 — Call for entries now open!

2018 IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award: Call for Nominations


The Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award is the highest honor that the International Federation of Landscape Architects (IFLA) can bestow upon a landscape architect. The Jellicoe Award recognizes a living landscape architect whose achievements and contributions have had a unique and lasting impact on the welfare of society and the environment and on the promotion of the profession of landscape architecture. The award is bestowed annually on an individual whose work and achievements merit this recognition.


The annual award is open to landscape architects throughout the world. The nominee must be an academic, or practitioner, whose merit, talent, and actions are respected internationally. Accomplishments may be in landscape planning, design, or management; improvement in the quality of human settlements or environments; or landscape architectural education.

Procedure for Making a Nomination

Nominations can be made by IFLA member associations, delegates, members, and members of allied professional organizations, as well as private individuals. Nominations must be submitted in English and include the following information:

1. A letter of nomination, no longer than 3 pages, describing the nominee’s qualifications for the award, including:

Academic background and achievements;
Professional work and/or teaching and publications;
Review of the nominee’s international contribution;

2. Other relevant information, such as highlights of their experience in giving lectures, research/innovation, practice, professional organizations, publishing, and
any other international pursuitsA letter of support from a secondary source must be submitted if someone other than a member association is the nominator. The letter should confirm the accuracy of the nomination

3. Contact information for both the nominator(s) and nominee, including name, address, email address, and phone contact information.

***Deadline March 1, 2018***

Nominations for the Jellicoe Award must be submitted electronically to the administrative headquarters of the International Federation of Landscape Architects in care of:
Sally Robertshaw, Executive Secretary, International Federation of Landscape Architects,

Candidate Selection

The award recipient will be identified through a nomination and jury selection process.

In agreeing to be nominated, nominees, in the event of winning the award, must present a lecture on their work at the IFLA World Congress, and/or other suitable fora, and travel to the 2018 IFLA World Congress in Singapore from July 18–21, 2018, to accept the award. A candidate may be nominated for the award up to 3 times in succeeding years, and may be nominated again after a break of 2 years.

Nomination Committee

The Nomination Committee includes landscape architects from all five regions of IFLA, who represent the range of academic, public, and private practice and have a thorough knowledge of the profession, its key practitioners, and international practice.

The Nomination Committee initiates a search for an appropriate candidate by soliciting nominations from IFLA World Council members, member associations, and independent sources. The Committee also develops nominations to help ensure a broad range of qualified nominees for consideration as final candidates.

After the Nomination Committee agrees on a list of suitable final candidates for the Award, it will seek the agreement of each candidate to be so nominated, and then obtain additional information supporting their nomination.

Awards Jury

The Awards Jury comprises 5–7 members—a chair and at least one member from each region of IFLA. The World Council may appoint a “guest member” from an allied profession for a 1-year term. The jury adopts its own working procedures, establishing criteria for assessment in terms of the purpose of the award and the categories of nominations. Upon completion of their work, the jury submits a written report to the IFLA president. The report and its result remain confidential until the award winner has been officially announced by the IFLA president at the 2018 IFLA World Congress.

Procedure for the Award

The award recipient will be notified by the IFLA president and invited to attend the IFLA World Congress, where the winner will be announced, the award will be presented, and the winner will make a presentation of his/her work at a suitable function in conjunction with the Congress. The content of the presentation will be made available for IFLA use.

For More information

Questions regarding the award or the nomination and selection process should be directed to:

Gareth Doherty, ASLA, Chair, Nomination Committee, IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award

Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe: 1900–96

The award commemorates the outstanding contributions to IFLA of the President of Honour Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe of Great Britain who served IFLA as founding President from 1948­–54. Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe was a leading landscape architect with a career spanning almost 70 years. Born in 1900, he was a trained architect but his prime interest was in landscape architecture. Jellicoe’s rich career enabled the creation of many inspiring projects, from Cheddar Gorge to the Kennedy Memorial at Runnymede, thought to be one of his greatest works. He was a founding member of IFLA as well as president of the British Institute of Landscape Architects. He was knighted for services to landscape architecture in 1979. In 1994 he was awarded the Royal Horticultural Society’s highest award, the Victoria Medal of Honour.

Published on December 20, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Products by Maglin